Q School 2017

During the 2016/17 season, the EASB ran a 6 event series known as The English Amateur Tour

Described as -

Second in status only to the English Amateur Championship this Competition is designed to attract the best amateurs in the country playing in the best conditions.Players who aspire to achieving Main Tour status will see this as an excellent and affordable opportunity to gain valuable top match-play experience.

For each event the winner will receive £1000 + entry fee to World Snooker Q-School 2017 (guaranteed)

The two highest ranked eligible players at the end of the season will be nominated to participate in World Snooker’s English Open Championship.

The top-ranked players at the end of the Tour will represent England in the World and European Team Championships. Along with the current English Amateur Champion, the current champion of the English Amateur Tour will represent England in the World and European Snooker Championships. Any further places allocated by the IBSF or EBSA will be offered first to the English Amateur Runner-Up and then down the ranking list for this tour series. The qualification to World and European Men’s Championships provides a route to the Main Tour. Along with the current champions of the English Amateur and Under 40s Championships the Home Internationals Seniors Team will be selected from the highest ranked eligible players from this series.

The winners of these events were :-

  1. Peter Lines
  2. Luke Simmonds
  3. Lewis Gillen
  4. David Lilley
  5. Kuldesh Johal
  6. Steven Hallworth

Peter Lines has since regained his pro tour card by virtue of the EBSA order of merit play offs.

The remaining five players will take their place at Q School at Preston Guild Hall starting on the 9th May.




Event 1 - 


Luke Simmonds received a bye through to Round 2 and will play the winner of Josh Cooper and Saquib Nasir on Friday 12 May - scheduled for 2pm

Lewis Gillen has also received a bye through to Round 2 and will play the winner of Adrian Rosa and Brandon Sargeant on Thursday 11 May at 9am

David Lilley will play Anthony Jeffers in Round 1 - scheduled for 2pm on Wednesday 10 May

Kuldesh Johal plays Mike Hallett in Round 1 - scheduled for Wednesday 10 May at 4:30pm

Steven Hallworth will play Zhang Jiankang in Round 1 - scheduled for 7pm on Wednesday 10 May


Thursday 11 May - Report 1

Friday 12 May - Report 2

Saturday 13 May - Report 3



Event 2 - 

The five English Amateur Tour winners start their second campaign as follows


Luke Simmonds plays Shaun Sultana - scheduled for Monday 15 May at 4:30pm

Lewis Gillen has received a bye through to round 2 and plays on Wednesday 17 May at 9:00am

David Lilley plays Lee Shanker at 9:00am on Monday 15 May

Kuldesh Johal plays Stuart Watson - scheduled for 4:30pm on Monday 15 May

Steven Hallworth plays Ian Brumby - scheduled for 7:00pm on Monday 15 May


Monday 15 May - Update

Wednesday 17 May - Update

Thursday 18 May - Update